Education Innovation Sessions 2022

10 February, 2022

Thank you to everyone who helped make the 3rd annual EIS event a success!

Did you miss it? Watch the recordings! All session recordings are available via the session links in the descriptions.


As institutions continue to meet the needs of Gen Z, Millennial and older adult students alike during the pandemic, while also planning for the return to a post-COVID world, it's more important than ever that we continue to innovate alongside them.

New in 2022, sessions were offered in English, Spanish and Portuguese.

Session Line-Up

Links to the individual sessions are now available in the session descriptions. Register to watch the recordings.
Session One
13:15 CET - 7:15 AM EST - 4:15 AM PST

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/5859749784641238029

En Campus Solutions, a nivel de usuario nos encontramos muchas opciones de seguridad con el objetivo de ser suficientemente flexibles para adaptarse a prácticamente cualquier necesidad de negocio: controles por Academic Career, Programas, Planes, Checklist Items, etc..

No obstante, este gran abanico de opciones conlleva un gran abanico de pantallas de configuración que, en algunos momentos, son difíciles de encontrar y de gestionar para los diferentes grupos de usuarios de la plataforma; porque, además de todo esto, también hay las variables de los Roles y Permission Lists.

Por tanto, conociendo esta casuística se ha desarrollado una conjunto de tres herramientas para dar solución global donde: localizar todas las opciones principales de seguridad de usuarios para gestionarlas en un mismo sitio a través de lo que denominamos “Super Role”, asignar esta nueva definición a los usuarios y finalmente una herramienta para actualizarles cambios que se hayan hecho a estas entidades para replicarlas a todos los usuarios que poseian esta entidad de “Super Role”.
De esta forma, se controla de forma más eficiente y precisa las opciones de seguridad de usuarios, y se simplifica la gestión en Campus Solutions.

Session Two
14:00 CET - 8:00 AM EST - 5:00 AM PST

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/5819293254297243915

Monitoring the progress of students is an essential task for study advisors. 
Progression and overview reports are, among other things, a great help to identify students who are experiencing a delay.Up to date insights give advisors the ability to coach students earlier in the game preventing a potential drop out.

However, getting such information for a student advisor is not always straightforward. Until recently for many advisors at the university, this was still a complex and time-consuming operation, not to mention the arguable quality of such reports.

The University of Amsterdam launched a project in 2021 called “the Cohortmonitor” aiming for a faster, reliable, and easier way to access student progress information.

Please join us and attend our presentation where we share project approach and insights , the challenges, and a demo of the cohortmonitor!

Postponed to 18:00 CET due to technical issues.

New Link: https://www.gotostage.com/channel/f717f4b38add4481b84815b2cc81b85c/recording/785ea74dda8c4c1fba39d77b0aee67e8/watch

This is a pre-recorded session.

Join Jim Marion as he shares Fluid development tips and techniques to build a modern, mobile-friendly, intuitive student experience.

Session Three
14:45 CET - 8:45 AM EST - 5:45 AM PST

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/5513565250101180430

Real Time Indexing was introduced in PeopleTools 8.59 to address a common problem with the PeopleSoft Search Framework indexes potentially being out of date as soon as they are created.   In this session I’ll explore what Real Time Indexing is, how to configure it, what’s available now and what opportunities exist for exploiting this innovative feature in PeopleTools.

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/5199075237743314957

Campus Solutions, as delivered, does provide more modern functionality to facilitate admissions processing and selection through configuration, primarily. Key delivered functionality that work together for a typical admission/selection process include, for example, EMS, Rules Engine, BI Publisher, PS Query, 3C’s and Notification Framework.

Admissions processing and selection for Health Science students are traditionally more complex in general, taking more criteria into consideration – and with more complex calculations. This session does a deep dive into a project at the University of the Free State (South Africa) that specifically implemented Health Science Admissions Processing, Rules and Selection using delivered functionality.

Session Four
15:30 CET - 9:30 AM EST - 6:30 AM PST

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1650655446282314511

If there’s one thing consistent in communication, it’s that communication styles and preferences are always changing, and this is especially true in the higher education arena. Institutions have had to pivot to meet the needs to digital native students, even before the onset of the pandemic. Administrators and educators rely more than ever on collaboration apps like Teams and Slack. Meanwhile, Gen Z and Millennial students continue to seek platforms which allow them to interact with information, not just receive it. With students, educators and administrators juggling multiple apps for communication and collaboration, a very real risk exists for important messages to get lost in the shuffle.

Now what does this mean for your PeopleSoft applications? CY2 Connect was built in order to bridge the gap between the SIS and your favorite communications apps – be it Teams, Whatsapp, Slack or something else. Just like any good relationship though, this communication isn’t a one-way street.

In this presentation we’ll discuss communication trends among today’s students and faculty and demonstrate in real-time how CY2 Connect can link to various apps in a few easy steps – and how the apps can link back to Campus Solutions!

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/6998247895715071501

This session is one hour long.

This session will cover everything you need to know to get started with Kibana Analytics

  • What is Kibana? Why is it compelling?
  • How to deploy delivered Kibana Analytics?
  • How to build your own?
  • Tips and Tricks!
Session Five
16:15 CET - 10:15 AM EST - 7:15 AM PST

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4906016906034101261

Is your Admissions and Recruiting office flooded with applicants?
This is an excellent problem to have!
But often there are serious bottlenecks that prevent serving all of those prospects and applicants
in a timely fashion to keep up with the expectations of today’s customers, and in a market of increasing competition for the same students.
We will review Tips and Techniques for Streamlining Prospect and Applicant management including:
– Self Service innovations
– Self Report
– Automation of Transcript Ingestion
– Automation of Test or Transfer credit
– Test and Transfer Preview Modeling
– Making data work for you

Link to session in the Session Four description.

This is the second half of a one hour long session.

This session will cover everything you need to know to get started with Kibana Analytics

  • What is Kibana? Why is it compelling?
  • How to deploy delivered Kibana Analytics?
  • How to build your own?
  • Tips and Tricks!
Session Six
17:00 CET - 11:00 AM EST - 8:00 AM PST

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4895939881965574667

PeopleSoft as delivered does make provisioning for accessibility functions to assist visually impaired students with using the system. This is however still subject to specific considerations in order to optimise the use of the system for this cohort.

The session does a deep-dive into a recent project at the University of Cape Town (South Africa) with the goal of optimising the usability of specific custom functionality in PeopleSoft Campus Solutions for visually impaired students specifically. This includes background of the project, details on the approach taken, lessons learned, potential pitfalls as well as details on the final project outcome achieved.

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4298666474059984655

Today’s dynamic access requirements present a myriad of challenges for institutions looking to secure identity, protect sensitive data, and reduce risk in PeopleSoft. Between a combination of remote access requirements and data privacy regulations, it is clear that modern security strategies must simultaneously focus on the application, transaction, and data levels in order to be effective. But, how can you evolve and modernize your security strategy? What should you truly be focused on?

Join Greg Wendt, PeopleSoft security expert and Executive Director of Security Solutions at Appsian as he breaks down today’s most pressing security challenges and provides best practices for organizations looking to ramp up their multi-layer security strategy – quickly and most effectively.

 In this session, you will learn:

  • Best practices for strengthening identity governance and integrating PeopleSoft into your enterprise-wide IAM strategy
  • How to implement and enforce strong controls for data loss prevention in order to prevent overexposure and exfiltration
  • How to implement security controls that help comply with IT security audits, GDPR, and more
Session Seven
19:00 CET - 1:00 PM EST - 10:00 AM PST

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4604629773744508430

This is a one-hour long session.

Oracle continues to invest in PeopleTools as the platform for PeopleSoft applications.  In this session we’ll talk about some of the new features in PeopleTools 8.59 as well as where we see investment in the future.

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/7485895596285019659

O que podemos afirmar sobre a comunicação, é que os estilos e preferências de comunicação estão sempre mudando, e isso não é diferente na esfera do ensino superior. As instituições tiveram que se articular para atender às necessidades dos alunos nativos digitais, mesmo antes do início da pandemia. Administradores e educadores confiam mais do que nunca em aplicativos de comunicação como Teams e Slack. Enquanto isso, os alunos da Geração Z e os Millennials continuam buscando plataformas que lhes permitam interagir com as informações, não apenas recebê-las. Com alunos, educadores e administradores fazendo malabarismos com vários aplicativos para comunicação e colaboração, existe um risco em potencial de mensagens importantes se perderem na confusão.

Agora, o que isso significa para os seus aplicativos PeopleSoft? O CY2 Connect foi construído para preencher a lacuna entre o SIS e seus aplicativos de comunicação favoritos – seja Teams, Whatsapp, Slack ou qualquer outro. Assim como qualquer bom relacionamento, essa comunicação não é uma via de mão única.

Nesta apresentação, discutiremos as tendências de comunicação entre os alunos e professores de hoje e demonstraremos em tempo real como o CY2 Connect pode se conectar a vários aplicativos em algumas etapas fáceis – e como os aplicativos podem se vincular ao Campus Solutions!

Session Eight
19:45 CET - 1:45 PM EST - 10:45 AM PST

Link to session in the Session Seven description.

This is the second half of a one-hour long session.

Oracle continues to invest in PeopleTools as the platform for PeopleSoft applications.  In this session we’ll talk about some of the new features in PeopleTools 8.59 as well as where we see investment in the future.

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4698348846361301263

This session does a deep-dive into the ongoing registration process at UCT and showcase how delivered functionality is working together to provide an end-to-end process to facilitate registration with interaction between students, advisors and administrators while enforcing institution specific business rules, checks and balances. Key delivered functionality working together as part of this process include Program Enrollment, Elastic Search with the delivered Class Search/Shopping Cart, Service Requests, Activity Guides, Rules Engine for both PE as well as Service Request workflow routing etc.

Session Nine
20:30 CET - 2:30 PM EST - 11:30 AM PST

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/900493847023047691

Oracle has expanded its PeopleSoft functionalities in recent years with privacy tools, sequentially:
* Page and Field configurator
* Data Privacy Framework
* Data masking for page and field configurator
To this has now been added the Data Masking for PeopleTools Query functionality.
This allows you to control at field level which people are allowed to see the contents of such a field.
Those who are not allowed to, literally see: stars. And all that with 1 and the same query!
The great thing about this is that you don’t have to configure it per query. How then?
Come to this session to see what you can do with this new functionality to meet your privacy requirements in compliance with the GDPR.

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/5869129718338136331

Education is transforming! There is a high demand for flexible short courses. Wouldn’t it be great to have a module in PeopleSoft Campus Solutions where students and administrators can experience the “webshop” enrolment feeling?

In this presentation we show you the CY2 Continuing Education module. A module inside of Campus Solutions facilitating speedy onboarding for students that want to enroll in a Continuing Education course or program. Hear and See how students simply shop for a course, pay them and become a life long learner in just a few clicks…

Session Ten
21:15 CET - 3:15 PM EST - 12:15 PM PST

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8222757502894963980

Testing your PeopleSoft environments seems to be a never-ending battle. More than ever customers should be looking at ways to automate testing and validation of their systems. While delivered tools like PTF are great for testing business functionality, what about the automated testing of core PeopleTools and infrastructure? What about performance and stress testing? In this session, I will be covering how you can leverage JMeter for automated testing of PeopleTools. Creating JMeter test scripts can be a quick way to test things like high system login volume, or validate that all process definition types are processing successfully in Process Scheduler. Running JMeter tests like these after system maintenance or a system refresh will reduce timelines and system issues.

Link: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/426762665126051086

Karen Gregory who is a higher education research administration specialist with over 15 years experience of research funding systems will be covering how institutions can effectively apply for grants to fund research projects and the flexibility provided to tailor the application to their individual needs. 

Highlights will be around:

  • No more double keying of information between your Finance, HR and post award systems.
  • Ensuring proposals are created with all the information required and how you can add customisation to suit your institution
  • Full economic costing and other costing models provided with multiple cost versions allowed
  • Flexible approval routings and how to adapt to your own needs
  • AI driven scanner to bring identify new funding opportunities
Session Eleven
22:00 CET - 4:00 PM EST - 1:00 PM PST

Don't miss out!

on future EIS events!

Register for EIS Updates

* indicates required
Are you interested in presenting a session? *

After registration you will be automatically subscribed to the participant list which is managed by CY2 to provide you additional info and reminder e-mails for the event. We will not sell or distribute your provided information to any other third party at any time.

You can cancel your registration at any time by clicking the unsubscribe link in the footer of any upcoming email you receive from CY2.

We use Mailchimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to Mailchimp for processing. Learn more about Mailchimp's privacy practices here.

Note: Clicking “Register” will open a pop-up Captcha window. You must complete the Captcha process in order to register.

Having problems? Email [email protected] for assistance or to register alternately.